Spicy Shredded Chicken Pasta (using leftover chicken curry)

I wasn’t planning on posting this recipe but due to the many requests – here it is.

This is what I call a cheat meal or repurposing left overs. I had left over chicken curry and I shred the chicken off the bone.  I boiled the pasta – penne in this case, heated the chicken in its sauce and added the cooked pasta, along with the pasta water to create enough moisture for the pasta.

Mix well, garnish with cilantro and serve.

Below is the recipe for one chicken curry.

I have others on my other blog:

Chicken curry with Potatoes

IMG_7623

An Indian curry can be made in a thousand ways.  It can be very simple or highly complicated.

This is a dish I made with what I had on hand and so can you.

IMG_7536IMG_7538

Most curries start with whole spices cooked in oil.

Here I have mustard oil ( you can use any oil) with cumin seeds, a bay leaf, dry red chilies and a large black cardamom (you can use the green pods).  I then add a sliced onion and salt.  Stir and cook for a few minutes.

The more you caramelize the onions, the deeper and richer your curry will be.

IMG_7540IMG_7542

Saute the onions for just a few minutes – I am making a quick curry and so don’t brown the onions too long.

Next, I add a diced tomato and key lime pickle that I made (key limes and salt – let sit in jar for a few weeks).

IMG_7544IMG_7545

Saute for a few moments.  Taste the mix and add cayenne if you like and then a cup of water to create a sauce.

Let sauce simmer over low heat.

IMG_7554IMG_7556

Slice a couple of chicken breasts or thighs and season with salt, cumin powder, coriander powder and cayenne pepper.  Add to the simmering sauce and cook till the chicken is cooked through.

IMG_7558IMG_7623

Serve over basmati rice or with bread and you have dinner in less than 30 minutes.

Leave a comment