Steamed Salmon with Bok choy over Brown Rice

I have neglected to share any of my healthful recipes for some time now.

I apologize. I really have no excuse.

This past Monday, like millions of people I decided to start eating healthfully. I am not a fan of the word diet. Anything we eat is our diet. I prefer to call it eating healthfully.

My mom bought me a new toy – a fish poacher. I am so excited. While I have used it often at work and at client’s homes, I have never owned one myself. The possibilities of what you can do with it are really endless. You can of course use it for many things other than fish.

Last night, I decided to steam some wild caught salmon for dinner.

Now, while this thing is called a poacher, I didn’t want to immerse my fish in a liquid. So I decided to raise the bottom panel which has holes in it by using lemons, limes and fresh ginger.

IMG_1510

You can decide how you want to do it and alter the seasonings to your taste.

What I am doing above is essentially making a court bouillon. This is merely a fancy word for a flavorful liquid. As you can see it is the ends of lemons and limes, sliced ginger, a couple of dried read chilies. I also put a cup of left over white wine which I found in the refrigerator.

Bring this up to a boil and simmer for a few minutes. While this is happening, prepare your fish. I wanted to keep it simple with fresh citrus flavors. And so it is one lemon and lime thinly sliced and placed on top of the fish. You can sprinkle the fish with a tiny bit of salt.

 

Place the fish in the steamer/poacher over low heat and cover.

While the fish is cooking, I turn my attention to the baby bok choy. It cooks very fast and is best to have all your ingredients on the ready.

The bok choy got a lot of recipe requests on face book yesterday and so here goes.

Bok choy, washed and trimmed

Julienne of fresh ginger

Soy Sauce

Hoisin Sauce

Ponzu or mirin

Sriracha or your favorite chili sauce

Sesame Oil

Heat a tsp. of oil in a skillet and add the ginger. Cook the ginger for a minutes and add the washed bok choy. Now add all the above sauces except the sesame oil and stir. Add a tiny bit of water to create a sauce. Simmer for just a couple of minutes to heat the boy choy through. Be careful not to over cook it.

​Depending on the thickness of the fish, the steaming should take anywhere between 15 to 20 minutes. Check after about 10 minutes.

I also cooked brown rice while the fish and bok choy were cooking.


When everything is done, all you have to do is plate and serve.


Spoon the rice on the bottom of the plate. Portion and place the fish over the rice and lay the bok choy around the fish. Add sesame oil to the juices at the bottom of the bok choy pan. You can even add the poaching liquid to add to the sauce. Taste and adjust seasoning.

Spoon over the fish and serve hot.

Clearly, you can use the fish of your choice for this dish. Other proteins like chicken and turkey should work beautifully too. I plan to make tofu tonight.

And the vegetables can also be whatever you like. Kale, spinach, broccoli rabe – just about anything.

When eating this dish you will never feel deprived. It is filling and very flavorful.

I hope you attempt to make this and other healthy dishes that reading this may have inspired.
Until I cook again!

One Comment Add yours

  1. ghazanfar hussain says:

    beautiful………………loving this….

Leave a Reply

