Spicy, Sweet and Sour Eggplant

on

This dish takes less than 15 minutes and I made it yesterday, frankly because the eggplant had been laying around and calling out to be cooking instantly.

You can use any type of eggplants for this dish – Globe, Japanese or the small purple ones.

Saute the eggplant in the oil of your choice – I used mustard oil as it has a high smoking point and provides a nice flavor.

Add fresh ginger and green or red chilies.  Skip the chilies but make sure you add the fresh ginger.

If you read my recipes – you may have figured out that I don’t stick to traditional techniques or ingredients. I used what I had laying about in my pantry.

Ordinarily I would add oyster sauce to provide the sweetness in this dish – but I used blueberry jam instead. Trust me, blueberry jam is an amazing ingredient for savory dishes.  The other sauce shown here – I am not even sure what it is exactly but its for more sweetness and also heat.

I also added soy sauce and sriracha chili sauce.

Stir everything in after the eggplant has browned.  The jam may start to stick the bottom, add a little water to scrape off the delicious fond that forms at the bottom of the pan.  Add a splash of vinegar or lime juice and cook on a low simmer until the eggplant is cooked through and the sauce has coated each piece.

Taste and adjust seasoning.

Serve hot – or at room temperature.  It’s very good either way.

I served it for dinner with yellow lentils and turkey kebabs.

You can serve it over rice as a part of a more traditional Asian meal.

This is a healthful bunch of ingredients that you can use for other vegetables and even proteins such as chicken or fish.

Until I cook again!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Great idea! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Mona says:

    Yes! I like the idea of blueberry jam… definitely will try it! Thank you

Leave a Reply

