Fish Filet over Asparagus, Tomatoes and Black Eyes Peas

on

Cooking delicious meals that are quick, look beautiful and are healthful is the key to weight loss as far as I am concerned.

While I have not conquered the weight loss battle, it is something that I strive to do and if nothing else – I like to share some tips and tricks.

I am on an asparagus bender if you read my posts regularly.

Here I sauteed some asparagus, threw in cherry tomatoes that are always in season and always sweet.

Next I added some black eyed peas that I soaked overnight and then boiled till soft.  You can use canned beans and any bean that you like – chickpeas, white beans, kidney beans, etc.

Beans are a great way to get protein – I really enjoy their flavor and they are very satisfying.

Season with salt and pepper and remove to a plate.

In the same pan – since I hate washing dishes, heat a little oil and sear fish filet that are seasoned with a little salt and pepper.  You could do the same with chicken breast or even pork chops or medallions (any protein that will cook quickly).

This dish is also easy to do by poaching if you want to further save calories.

Poaching is a simple technique where you heat up about a quarter an inch of water and or stock or even wine and cook the meat in the liquid.

I will talk about poaching in more detail in another post.

After the fish is browned on one side, flip it over after a couple of minutes.  I added 1/4 cup white wine – you could use stock and the juice of one lemon along with a tbs of capers.

Plate the dish with the vegetables and black eyed peas on the bottom, the fish over it and some of the sauce with the capers.  Garnish with lemon slices and I cracked some pink peppercorns over the top for color and a subtle flavor.

I hope you try this dish and make it your own by switching over the vegetables, beans and the meat 🙂

Until I cook again!

Leave a Reply

