An Ode to Asparagus

on

Today is the first day of spring and I have been trying to will spring into my life for days.  While I have no control over the weather, I can surely use spring vegetables to ease myself out of winter.

Asparagus is one of those vegetables.

It can be cooked in so many ways, tastes great and is so healthful.

The above is chicken medallions that I quickly sauteed and made an orange sauce.

It is quite simple really  – after the chicken is cooked through, add 1/2 cup of orange juice, a little stock if you have it or a splash of water.  Reduce the sauce and add a pat of butter if you like.

My favorite way to cook asparagus is with a little olive oil on high heat.  Season simply with salt and pepper, fresh herbs if you have them – thyme in this case.  The high heat will char them, giving them a deeper flavor.  Do not over cook the asparagus and a drizzle of lemon juice should do the trick.

Asparagus is a versatile vegetable that can be the star of a dish or hold its own with many proteins – in this case the strong flavor of a seared salmon over pasta.

Here I made a one skillet meal of a New York strip steak, home fries and to add freshness – asparagus.

I hope you use asparagus every chance you get.  In salads, soups, omelets – roasted, sauteed or blanched. It is truly like spring on a plate.

Until I cook again!

Leave a Reply

