Healthy Chicken Stew in Red wine with Spinach and Root Vegetables

It’s the New Year – typically a time when people make attempts to eat healthfully and exercise.  I am certainly one of those people.  I love food a lot and luckily am proficient in the kitchen and so I can make delicious meals that are healthy without compromising flavor.

It is my goal to use this blog as a place to post healthy and delicious recipes/guidelines.

I hope you will join me in a discussion in what works for you and what doesn’t.  Also, if you have concerns or requests, please feel free to share them here.

 

img_1589

I like to prep ingredients that I might use in more than one dish and that saves a lot of time in the kitchen.

img_1587

Here I am roasting vegetables in the oven while I start the chicken stew.

We have sweet potatoes and colorful carrots.  You can roast just about any vegetable with a little salt and pepper with a slight drizzle of olive oil.

img_1566

In a skillet, heat a tbs or so of olive oil and sear skinless chicken thighs on both sides.  The thighs are seasoned with salt, pepper and fresh thyme.  You can use any part of the chicken you prefer.  I like thighs as they are more flavorful and don’t dry out.  But you are free to use breast.  If you use chicken with the skin on – you can remove  the skin before serving to save calories.

img_1567 img_1569

I like to add a chopped onion after the onions have browned and then I add a couple of tbs. of flour in the corner of the pan.  I use the fat and any juices to brown the flour.  You can remove the chicken and do this step if you like – but I like the time saving factor.  Just make sure that you cook the flour before adding a liquid.  The flour is to thicken the sauce.  You can skip this step if you like and will achieve a thinner sauce.

img_1573 img_1582Next I add about a cup of red wine – just because I had in laying around.  You can use white wine or no wine at all.  Add a cup or two of chicken stock or even water.

You are trying to create a sauce and any of the above liquids will suffice.

I like to add pieces of garlic at this stage of cooking, so the garlic flavor is pronounced.

You can add it early on when you add the onion.

Also, use crushed or whole garlic cloves.

Stir everything well and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to a low simmer, cover and cook till the chicken is tender.

I have cooked my vegetables in the onion and so will add them in the end.  If you haven’t done that, this is the time to add the vegetables.

img_1584 img_1586

When the chicken is cooked through, taste the sauce and adjust the seasoning as required and then add fresh baby spinach.

Mix well and allow it to wilt just for a few minutes.

Serve in a bowl with your choice of pasta, rice, bread, couscous or eat as is.

This is a meal that is low in fat and calories.

Yet it is flavorful enough to satisfy.

I hope you try it and let me know what you think.

Until I cook again!

Leave a Reply

