Weight Watcher’s online – it’s a good thing!

on

I have neglected this blog for some time.

I hope to write regularly.

The war with weight – its almost like the war on drugs, or the war on terror – something that can never really be achieved.  But it can be fought on a regular basis.

And that is what I seem to do.

What am I doing this time around?  Weight Watcher’s online.  I really like the program – they are not paying me to say this.  Maybe they should – let me write to them.

They charge $16 a month and I put in what I ate each day.  It calculates your points for the day.  You are assigned points that you can consume according to your weight.  You never go hungry -I eat normally, and the act of listing what you ate seems to do something to the binges that might happen.

You are also given several points to distribute during the week.  You can splurge on the weekend or if you are going out.

Every week, you weigh yourself and hopefully a couple pounds have been lost.  Slow and steady wins the race here.

Some people enjoy real meetings – that doesn’t work for me.  I find every excuse in the book not to go and am not necessarily inspired by going.  You decide what works for you.

I’ll write about my journey and hopefully will lose several pounds that will be nowhere to be found.

Following is a healthful recipe that I hope you try and like.

@font-face { font-family: “Arial”; }@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 10pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

PANEER and GRAPE TIKKA

Ingredients

I lb. Paneer* (home made cheese) cut into 1 inch cubes

1 cup seedless grapes

2 Tbs. Vegetable Oil

Salt             to taste

2 Tbs. Chickpea/Gram flour (besan)

¼ tsp. cayenne pepper

½ Tsp.Dry mango powder (amchur)

I Tbs. Lemon juice

Wooden skewers

Method

Cut paneer into 1 inch cubes and sprinkle with salt, cayenne and mango powder.

Make skewers by threading alternating pieces of paneer and grapes.  Make them the size of the skillet you will be using to cook them in.

Heat a non stick skillet with 2 Tbs. oil and dredge the paneer in the chickpea flour.  Place the skewers in the skillet and cook on each side for 2-3 minutes or until the paneer gets brown.

Remove to a platter and squeeze some lemon juice over them if desired.

If you are using a grill don’t use the chickpea flour as it will burn.  Cook the skewers till the paneer is nice and brown.

For the Oven:  Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Cook skewers on a baking tray for 15 to 20 minutes.

Note:  Store bought paneer works best for this recipe.  Find paneer in the Indian grocery stores – Nanak is my favorite brand – but there are many others too.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Susan says:

    Wieght Watchers is the best “diet” program going. And here’s a tip: A friend who has kept 30 lbs off for over 2 years says that her mantra is “I don’t eat that”, so when shopping or eating out instead of feeling deprived that she can’t order a burger and fries and thinking “well, maybe next time”, just commit to saying and believing “I don’t eat that”.

Leave a Reply

