Want to lose weight?

Think spices!

 

Spices add flavor to food which might make you eat less by satisfying your taste buds.

I want to say no – that’s not true.  If you gave me  tub full of celery, I will probably stop after the first stalk, but if you put some yummy sauce on it, I might eat 2 or 3 or even 5.

I am not about to argue with scientists though.

Spicy food is known to make us lose weight – very little weight – so be careful.

 

Five Spices Are All You Need to Start an Indian Pantry!

This summer I was on a panel at the first Asian Feastival in New York City.  We were discussing spices, which is a huge topic and we just scraped the surface in the forty five minutes that we was allotted for the talk.

Since I like a little show and tell myself, I had taken a few spices to show the crowd.

There are 5 spices that provide a decent entry to the vast world of Indian cuisine.  Over the years, I have noticed that spices are what attract people to Indian food and are also the same thing that scare them away.  Many Indian recipes list 24 ingredients and most people shy away from that and then go and make something which calls for a lot fewer ingredients.  I don’t blame them.  I would do the same.

Following is a solution.  If you buy these 5 spices, you can make many Indian dishes that will taste delicious and authentic.

They are:

1.  Cumin Seeds

2.  Coriander Seeds

3.  Black Mustard Seeds

4.  Turmeric Powder

5.  Cayenne Pepper

The above spices along with fresh ginger, garlic, onions and tomatoes will come through almost every time you want to make an Indian meal.

In the next 5 days, I will post a recipe each day using one or more of the 5 spices.

Question:  Have you ever been discouraged from making Indian food due to the number of spices that you are asked to acquire by some recipes?

Until I eat again!

Leave a Reply

